Men Are All Like This

ImageYou said my hands were like liquid gold
which is why I never rub my eyes
even though I think it would be
amazing to see the world as perpetual sunrise
I think it would be rather difficult to blink.

These golden hands fill crevices
like the space between embrace;
inching closer to coagulation,
wandering and whisping to a wanton oneness…
that only liquids know how to fake.

I force myself up to the wrist where I don’t belong,
my mark is left on everything that I touch,
my shimmer won’t dull under water or sun,
so take my hand in yours, princess,
be the container of my flow, princess,

but bring a towel for fun.

Men are all like this.

Speak Up, Son!

