On The Boy I Watched Die (A Paradelle)

Fourteen hours later I woke up.  It took time but
fourteen hours later I woke up.  It took time but
I started to remember what happened.
I started to remember.  What happened?
But I took time.  I woke up to remember what happened
fourteen hours later.    It started

while I was pumping gas.  A boy was hit by a motorcycle
while I was pumping gas.  A boy was hit by a motorcycle
and I saw him die on the side of the road.  She was screaming “don’t, please, help,” and she
and I saw him die on the side of the road.  She was screaming “don’t, please, help,” and she
hit him while I, on the side of the road, was screaming, “don’t die, boy!  Please,”
and “help”.  I was pumping gas and she saw a motorcycle.  She was by a

group of people gathered around like hope, her friends.  She cried.  They were too.  Late in the evening, a
group of people gathered around like hope.  Her friends.  She cried.  They were too late.  In the evening, a
nugget of fear grew to a mountain.  “I’m sorry I couldn’t save him,” I wanted to say.  That
nugget of fear grew to a mountain.  I’m sorry.  I couldn’t save him.  I wanted to say that
around him grew a hope; a group of people gathered, nugget-like fear, mountain of friends.
They were too late.  I’m sorry she cried, I couldn’t save that.  I wanted to say, in the evening, to her

group of friends that they couldn’t save the boy it hit.  She
gathered her nugget of fear a while like I was, a mountain of late hope, and cried by him.
Please don’t die.  She was screaming.  I was too.  I’m sorry I saw.
The gas pumping on a side road grew in to the evening.  People were around him, around a motorcycle.
She wanted help, to say what happened, but I, I took time to remember.
I woke up fourteen hours later and started.

6 comments on “On The Boy I Watched Die (A Paradelle)

  1. 2zpoint says:

    You are the most “intense” building writer I may have ever read!…your para-diddle replays similar to a mind replaying the trauma over and over again! and the material…outstanding. To keep it in would be like becoming a wall because they don’t talk either. I am adding you to my “Awesome Writers Worth Reading ” list …truly a great read!

    • Hikkii-chan says:

      Wow, 2zpoint! I’m honored you enjoy my poetry that much! I really don’t know what I’m doing – I have never really studied poetry so I’m terribly appreciative of the praise. Thanks so much for adding me to your list. Once the weekend hits and I have some time I will upgrade my site and throw you on my blogroll if you don’t mind ^_^

Speak Up, Son!

